top of page

21. What is the abacus skills classification?

Updated: Dec 11, 2020

Like many other fields, abacus has its own graded exam and verification system. Currently, there are at least 100 organizations or countries that are promoting abacus education and they have their own system.

Abacus and mental arithmetic start at level 10 (abacus and mental arithmetic have their respective levels).

(A) The beginner levels are Level 10, 9, 8 and 7.

(B) The intermediate levels are Level 6, 5 and 4.

(C) The high levels are Level 3, 2 and 1.

(D) The advanced levels for instructors and contestants. The advanced level start from Advanced 1 and go up to Advanced 15.

Students learn abacus first before they learn mental arithmetic. Abacus paves the road to mental arithmetic by building mathematic foundations and images. The teachers then instruct students to turn the images into mental arithmetic.

334 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

01. What are abacus and mental arithmetic?

Abacus is an ancient calculator originated from China. It was used for basic mathematic operations and solve questions like square roots. There are certain rules and formulae to follow when using an a

02. Why do students learn abacus and mental arithmetic?

One common question people have is “In an era of easy access to computers and calculators, why go through the trouble of learning mental arithmetic? It is quite simple. Why do we run or ride bikes whe


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page